J. Lodge and call monitoring companies

Have a question about an opportunity you've discovered? This is the place to ask these questions and get honest feedback from our members!

J. Lodge and call monitoring companies

Postby QuesterLEJ on Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:30 pm

Avertisements

Hello everyone,

I'm a 25-year-old college grad with a severe physical impairment (cerebral palsy) looking for a legitimate, flexible, decent-paying home-based job, and I could use some guidance and direction.

A few months ago I finally decided to start looking for work taking my disability into account. I hadn't done that until then because my disability has no effect on my mental capacity; it only affects my stamina to some degree, not to mention my employment options in general--I cannot drive and therefore must work from home (at least for the foreseeable future).

In addition to a few freelance opportunities I've been involved with since I graduated from college two years ago, I've recently completed a seasonal commitment with Alpine Access, the well-known call outsourcing firm, taking calls for 1-800-FLOWERS. At first I thought I had found the perfect job, but a couple of weeks into it, I slowly realized it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. Due to my disability, I just couldn't make my body move quickly enough to get up to Alpine's suggested standards, and I found it almost impossible to think, type, and speak all at once, while time was of the essence.