Looking for advise on starting an ecommerce business

Interested in buying low and selling high? Whether its selling on eBay,Amazon or anywhere else discuss reselling, dropshipping, and exchanging goods here.

Looking for advise on starting an ecommerce business

Postby geetar on Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:31 pm

WhyDoWork Recommends:

Want to Dominate Google?

Fool proof SEO guide. Learn SEO and improve your rankings today...

Learn How Now

Hey all,

This is my first post on these forums, I've been scouring these forums for the better part of the day and felt it was time to post.

First, a little about me. I have been interested in web design and developement since a young age. I have a diploma in digital media design, and right out of school I found my first job in the IT industry. I started as a designer, doing work for a direct sales company. It was a small company, but I learned wealth of knowledge there I wouldn't trade for the world. We were also selling software online. I got to work on designing ecommerce style websites, as well as modifying and writing code. I became familiar with the business side of ecommerce sites. the platforms I am experienced with are magento and zencart.

When I was tasked to another site, I became an email marketing guru, and learned a ton about affiliate marketing, I even attended last years adTech in NYC. Also have experience with customer service, backend administration, SEO, and advertising.

So with this in mind, I want to try my hand at my own business. I have alot of knowledge in other industries, but ecommerce is still quite unknown to me.

I want to start a website selling headphones, and had a few questions.

- Given that I don't have a business background, theres a ton for me to learn. With the experience I have in related fields, do you think it will be quite the learning curve selling online that it would be without the experience?